I’m sorry- this is an anti-xfactor essay. There’s nothing meaningful here, and this is going to polarise reader’s views. You’re as much entitled to your opinion as I am, but we may need to agree to disagree…

One of my friend’s FaceBook status updates last weekend read like this:

“…Is sick and tired of Take That polluting my tv and offending my ears. I will not have my son exposed to such crap!”

So the singer-songwriters of TT, now firmly in the second phase of their careers, are more offensive entertainers than the x-factor crowd…

This lead me to check the status of the last winner… Didn’t McElderry’s release (not his song, as it will have been written by someone else) just chart in the mid to low 60’s somewhere? Yes, I first had to google who it was, then again as I didn’t know how to spell it.

Whether or not I like TT is an irrelevance- you surely can’t compare their appeal, longevity, variety of writing and performing, and ability (they can all at least play something and play it live) as a group to the manipulatively produced, pause-laden Karaoke that is relentlessly televised, advertised, and marketed.

As an entertainer of sorts myself, xfactor and it’s peer shows are doing irreparable harm to entertainment quality in the UK… They are making it harder and harder for true talent to break through and be recognised on a more universal scale as the publicity machine simply snowploughs any other artist to one side.

It’s amazing that any real talent has made it through to the mainstream these last few years. I’m talking about the likes of Paloma Faith, Little Boots, The Noisettes etc- proper innovative musical talent in terms of creativity and technical arrangement.

The genre isn’t all bad- an early series of Pop Idol brought us Will Young, versatile singer-songwriter. Britain’s Got Talent brought us the frankly breathtaking Diversity. But now, people see it as an easy ticket to fame.

Fame is dangerous, particularly when it comes with the too much too soon exposure that Cowell tends to bring with him (we’ve seen meltdowns… Susan Boyle, & whatever her name is from this year’s xfactor). When there is no working through the ranks of local pubs, uk support tour, then an album and a headlining tour off the back of it, there is no opportunity to adjust to the pressures of fame. Meltdowns are nothing new, but the danger with media coverage these days is far increased.

Judging by my Facebook and Twitter feeds this last four months or so, a lot of people watch the disposable junk tele that is provided. Dare we hope this type of show has run it’s course? Well the next line from the Bros song of this week’s title brings a fitting end:

I can’t answer, I can’t answer that…

Barljo

